Food FAQs

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

HOW DOES DOMINO'S MONITOR ITS SUPPLIERS?

 

We take great pride in ensuring the quality of our products and, to that end, Domino’s Pizza Group has a documented Supplier Approval Procedure in place. All suppliers of food ingredients and packaging agree to a detailed product specification for the products they supply. This is reviewed by our Food Technologist to ensure the product is safe, legal and of consistently high quality. All food products are risk assessed and their production is either audited by our Food Technologist or is certified to the BRC Global Standard for Food Safety. A database of Domino’s approved products and suppliers is maintained. Suppliers are continually assessed in various ways. For example, quality checks carried out on delivery, samples sent for analysis or feedback received from stores or consumers.


HOW DOES DOMINO'S MONITOR ITS STORES?

 
Our team members, who work with ingredients or in the preparation of food, are trained to maintain the highest standards. Each of our stores is audited, unannounced, three times each year to ensure these standards are being upheld. These visits are in addition to any visits by Environmental Health Officers in the course of their duty.


IS DOMINO'S SUITABLE FOR VEGETARIANS?

 

We want as many people as possible to enjoy the great taste of Domino’s which is we’re delighted to confirm that all of our cheese is made with vegetarian rennet and is suitable for vegetarians. There’s a great range of delicious veggie pizzas on our menu, or of course you build your own legendary - or maybe that should that be vegendary - pizza if you like.


ARE DOMINO'S STORES OR PRODUCTS HALAL?

 

We do not position our stores or meat as halal approved. However, most of our chicken is sourced from suppliers in Thailand, whose product is certified as halal by religious authorities in the country. The exception is our chicken wings, which are sourced from suppliers across EU countries, some of which are not halal approved.

Top of Page


IS DOMINO'S SUITABLE FOR VEGANS?

 

Vegans sometimes ask us about cheese free pizza. Unfortunately our pizza bases contain a milk derived ingredient, making them unsuitable for vegans.

Top of Page


IS DOMINO'S SUITABLE FOR DIABETICS?

 

Someone with diabetes can eat anything but careful planning and balanced nutrition play vital roles in managing symptoms of diabetes. We list the carbohydrate content of our pizzas by the slice and 100g on our website. For detailed medical advice always ask a healthcare professional.

Top of Page


I HAVE FOOD ALLERGIES, WHAT DOMINO'S PRODUCT CAN I EAT?

 

We want as many people as possible to enjoy the great taste of Domino’s so If you have an allergy please inform your order-taker. Our stores are busy working environments and there is always some risk of cross-contamination between toppings. Details of the ingredients of all our products can be found on our website.

Top of Page


CAN I EAT DOMINO'S IF I'M PREGNANT?

 

Yes, all of our cheese is pasteurised so it's fine for pregnant ladies to eat.

Top of Page


HOW DOES DOMINO'S SOURCE ITS EGGS?

 

We use egg in a small number of products such as dips. By the end of April 2016 only Barn eggs will be used in our products. 

Top of Page


DOES DOMINO'S SELL ANY GLUTEN FREE PRODUCTS?

 

We want as many people as possible to enjoy the great taste of Domino’s. Our gluten-free pizza base has been accredited by Coeliac UK, the leading national charity dedicated to improving life for people with coeliac disease. Domino’s Pizza was the first major pizza delivery company to launch a Coeliac UK accredited gluten-free pizza when it was introduced in 2012. The gluten-free pizza is available at no extra cost.

Top of Page


WHAT CONTROLS DOES DOMINO'S HAVE IN PLACE FOR MAKING GLUTEN-FREE PIZZAS?

 

We have been working on this product with Coeliac UK for a number of years. Our team members have been fully trained on the new product, to make sure that they understand the controls around handling gluten-free pizzas and ingredients.

We have a range of controls in place, which have been thoroughly tested to ensure our gluten-free product will be suitable for coeliacs. These include:

  • The gluten-free bases are made in dedicated central production facilities.
  • Every gluten-free base is stored in a sealed pouch before use. Before opening the base, the team member must wash their hands.
  • The gluten-free base is easy to differentiate from our classic crust as it is a slightly different size.
  • Different size screens are used to cook gluten-free pizzas.
  • All of our makeline teams have been trained on the correct handling of the product and which toppings contain gluten.
  • Toppings which are gluten free are clearly marked on our website and highlighted on our printed menus.
  • One team member will take ownership of each gluten-free pizza from start to end of the makeline.
  • Fresh sauce and a clean spoodle will be used for all gluten-free pizzas.
  • Your gluten-free pizza will not be sliced.
  • We do not use separate toppings for gluten free pizzas. Very few of our toppings contain gluten and the risk of cross contamination from these toppings is eliminated by the controls in place. This has been validated by testing.
  • Within each store, a manager or appointed person will conduct a hot rack check to confirm pizza is on the correct base, correctly topped and boxed before it is sent for delivery.
  • Team members will place a sticker on the box indicating it is gluten-free.
  • The corn flour we use for stretching most of our pizzas is gluten-free.
  • We do not handle wheat flour in any of our stores. We will not be using separate ovens for our pizzas – thorough testing has concluded that it does not present a risk in our stores.

Top of Page


ARE DOMINO'S PRODUCTS SUITABLE FOR PEOPLE WHO ARE LACTOSE INTOLERANT?

 

Our gluten-free pizza base is dairy-free.

Top of Page


IS DOMINO'S MEAT ORGANIC OR FREE RANGE?

 

We take the animal welfare standards in our food chain very seriously. Our suppliers are compliant with legislative standards and are regularly audited. We do not currently use organic meat – mainly due to commercial reasons in terms of the price of organic meat and the availability of the types of product that we use. The same is true for free range.

Top of Page


DO ANY PRODUCTS CONTAIN NUTS?

 

Nuts are not used as an ingredient in any of our pizzas and side dishes. We do offer packaged products such as ice cream which may contain nuts and this is declared clearly on pack.

Top of Page


DO DOMINO'S PRODUCTS CONTAIN ANY GENETICALLY MODIFIED INGREDIENTS?

 

All of our pizzas and side orders are GM-free as of April 2016. 

Top of Page


DO DOMINO'S PRODUCTS CONTAIN ANY MSG, ARTIFICIAL COLOURS OR FLAVOURS OR ADDED HYDROGENATED FATS?

 

No, we don't use any of the above.

Top of Page


IS L-CYSTEINE SUITABLE FOR VEGETARIANS?

 

The L-cysteine we use in our bases is chemically synthesised so it is suitable for vegetarians.

Top of Page


WHY ISN'T DOMINO'S MOZZARELLA BUFFALO MOZZARELLA?

 

Mozzarella is a type of cheese that generally is produced from cows' milk. Buffalo mozzarella comes from buffalo milk and is traditionally used in Italy. The limited availability of Buffalo milk, plus the requirement for shelf-life to allow nationwide distribution, means dairy herds are by far the biggest source of milk for mozzarella production around the world. This mozzarella is what we use. See our fun Food Heroes video for more details.

Top of Page


HOW MUCH SALT IS THERE IN DOMINO'S PRODUCTS?

 

We agreed to review levels of salt in our products as part of the Government’s Responsibility Deal. Since we started that process in 2012 more than 40 tonnes of salt has been removed from our products. We will continue to work with our ingredient suppliers on salt levels while considering factors such as food safety and quality as well as taste. We see this as a long term commitment through a gradual reduction programme.

Top of Page


WHY CAN'T I BUY DOMINO'S DIPS IN SUPERMARKETS?

 

We have considered doing this, but after a lot of thought we decided it's the thing that makes our pizzas unique and we want to keep it that way. We feel that the Domino's dip should only ever be with a Domino's pizza so unfortunately, it's not something we'd be looking to do at the moment.

Top of Page


WHY DON'T DOMINO'S PIZZA MAKERS WEAR GLOVES?

 

Just as you wouldn't see a top chef in a restaurant wearing gloves to prepare food, we don't wear them for pizza making. We find that our team members are much more likely to keep continually washing their hands when they are not wearing gloves. We actively encourage hand washing in our stores as part of our high in-store standards.

Top of Page


WHY DON'T DOMINO'S TEAM MEMBERS WEAR HAIRNETS?

 

Although our teams don't wear hairnets, they do wear baseball caps – this is similar to most traditional butchers, where again you see people in hats rather than hair nets. Our rules on hair covering are that hair longer than the top of the uniform shirt collar must be secured under the cap or restrained with a hair band or a hairnet. The important thing is that the hair is out of the way and not falling forward over food.

Top of Page


WHAT CONTROLS DOES DOMINO'S HAVE IN PLACE FOR MAKING VEGETARIAN PIZZAS?

 

Our stores are busy working environments and there is a risk of cross-contamination between toppings. If you are a vegetarian, please inform your order-taker.

Top of Page